Newbie saying Hello

watkins58

May 16, 2021
Visit site
Hello all, just purchased a marantz pm8006 amp, and am wondering what to buy next, I have been advised to get a streamer and DAC. Would the marantz ND8006 be suitable or should I get all separate items? I probably would prefer to buy marantz items, as they can all look roughly the same shape. Am very interested in hearing your advice

iMark

The amp is purely analogue so you have to add sources.
I don't think you can go wrong with adding the ND8006, an incredibly versatile piece of kit. I like the fact that it has a CD player included.

It will sound great and it looks great with the PM8006.

Florestander

May 8, 2021
Visit site
It rather depends on your budget in my opinion. But do listen to lots of speakers if you can to see what sounds good to you.

I am also a relative newbie, but Marantz seems to be good place to start - and indeed finish, if that is what suits you, your ears and your budget, Denon are also good and there have been some other longstanding products around that are not too expensive from Arcam, Cambridge, Rega, etc, etc. No doubt you have already discovered a lot of these from doing some reading (as I did), and this can lead to confusion - as it did with me! :)

Above all, I consider that the best advice I can give is set yourself a budget and stick closely to it, using the principle of buying the best that your budget allows. Constant tweaking, as it appears some hobbyists are drawn to, is the quickest way to burn good, hard earned cash. This is after all an expensive hobby and some higher end equipment changes hands for eye -watering sums.