Newbie needing advice on lcd or plasma

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

Well as you can see im a newbie in the lcd v plasma war! and im looking for some advice and opinions on the two formats,so let me start at the begining.

I have a budget of £1400 for the i would like a 40" or bigger tv with a dvd home cinema system.It will be used for watching sd sky+ for now (hopefully sky hd soon)mostly for watching sport - football and F1. Playing Playstation 3 games/blu-ray movies and standard dvd movies on the home cinema system.

Now like most newbies im drawn towards the big names.I have been looking at the Sony kd40w3000 with the Dav-is10 or the Sony kdl40v3000- and dav-is10 but from what i have read the V series struggles with sd broadcasts.Also been looking at the Toshiba 42Z3030 and 40XF355D

I dont want to completly rule out plasma but so many people have told be they still suffer from screen burn etc that im afraid of spending £1000+ on one and being afraid of what i do with it....Or is this now a myth and im totally wrong?

Any advice on what system to buy for my budget would be great and appreciated.

Many Thanks

A

Anonymous

Go for Plasma...screen burn is no longer an issue. Pioneer, Panasonic or Samsung I would recommend. Also Plasma for forgiving with SD broadcasts. But the Sony LCD setup you mention is good also (for LCD).

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
With your budget i'd definitely go for our TV product of the year - Pioneer PDP428XD. Better than the Sony - in fact nothing still comes close to its combination of superlative colour, contrast, motion-handling and more. Forget the urban myths and the spec-fascists and trust your own eyes....

A

Anonymous

Hi Clare,

Thanks for the quick reply to my post.