New Logitech Squeezebox Touch Anyone?

smbmetal

Sep 8, 2007
Visit site
Has anyone purchased the new Logitech Touch? If so, what do you think to it's musical qualities?

For example, I currently have an Arcam CD92T player and have been considering converting my entire cd collection to an external hard drive, connecting it to the touch and connecting the touch either via an external DAC (if the quality is improved) or directly into my Rotels. I'm a novice when it comes to computer based music and am very sceptical when it comes to outright musical quality vs a mid-range CD player. I wonder if WHF will review it anytime soon?

Thoughts anyone?

bernasmeister

May 1, 2009
Visit site
From what I've been reading the DAC on the Touch is pretty good on its own (to the same level of the DAC Magic/Caiman, etc).

Haven't heard it yet, but quite tempted to go for one on feature basis only (I have a Caiman DAC as a pre-amp so will by-pass the Touch DAC anyway).

smbmetal

Sep 8, 2007
Visit site
bernasmeister:

From what I've been reading the DAC on the Touch is pretty good on its own (to the same level of the DAC Magic/Caiman, etc).

Haven't heard it yet, but quite tempted to go for one on feature basis only (I have a Caiman DAC as a pre-amp so will by-pass the Touch DAC anyway).

I must admit I'm very tempted and I've also noticed that you can trial it for 30 days if you buy directly from Logitech. I guess this will be the best way to see if it compares favourably to my Arcam CD player seeing as I'll be able to to do A/B comparisons.

A

Anonymous