needing advice on buying a hifi

josh05

Feb 28, 2010
Visit site
Hey all, i am looking at buying a new system to replace my home theatre
which has an av reciever, as i listen to music a lot i want to build a
system with an integrated amp just 2 channel stereo and start looking into some higher
quality gear. I have picked out some components and cables that i have
found have good reviews and are in my price range, at the moment they
are B&W CM-7 Speakers Rotel RA1520 amp Rotel RCD1072 CD Player
Cambridge Audio TT950 Turntable and Merlin Bach Cables. Can anyone tell
me whether this would be a good combination of components for the price
which will be roughly $7000 Australian Dollars, and i have also heard
some brands go better with others etc, generally would it be a good
system or could i do better?

I am fairly new to analogue equipment and integrated amps heard a nice system recently that was old and was a bit down that i could have got somthing similar for the money i spent on av reciever sub woofer etc.

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
If possible try to listen to everything first, both at dealerships and demoing at home if possible.

As far as value for money goes, don't rule out buying locally. As far as speakers go, I've certainly had good experiences with Krix stand-mounted speakers (don't know about floor-standers) in Australia.

josh05

Feb 28, 2010
Visit site
Thanks for the advice ID i am really new to this, unfortunately i live in a very small part of australia theres only 2 decent dealers in the state most of the others seem to be flodded with AV recievers and standard dvd players no high end gear at all and i have learnt my lesson there that integrated amps are much better for music. So i am very limited on being able to listen to systems. Will certainly have a look at Krix speakers though on the net.

Cheers

josh05

Feb 28, 2010
Visit site