Need help generate a basic system.

Joshisnewtothis

Jul 22, 2013
Visit site
Background:

I am a student who appreciates good music, but also (admittedly) likes a lot of electronic music. I am currently working to earn some money so to buy myself a new hi-fi setup/system for my university room and upgrade thereafter.

I am very new to hi-fi speaker systems and everything that it entails. I know the basic of basics, and would forgive anyone for being patronising when explaining to me the best way for me to have a setup. I am not stupid and a fast learner, but am by no means an audiphile as of yet! Although I am very willing to learn.

My case:

My budget is around £200-£300 for my setup.

- I am willing to go second hand, but am not entirely sure what things to look out for and be warey of in second hand speakers and amplifiers. -

So far I have done research into what speakers are good value and budget and come up with the following five stars:

Speakers:

Wharfedale Diamond 9.1

Wharfedale Diamond 10.0

Q Acoustics 2010/2010i

Q Acoustics 2020/2020i

Amplifiers:

Cambridge Audio Azur 340A

Cambridge Audio Azur 640A

Rotel RA-04

Cables:

I don't know all that much about cables, but what I do know is that I haven't got the time, knowledgeor equipment to spend on cable clipping and attaching audio interconnectors. A nice pair of cables already made without custom wire and connectors would be great if anyone knows of any half decent ones to go with a similar set up.

Stand:

Currently, I just don't need them, but may do when moving out of my halls, so any suggestions I would consider.
smiley-smile.gif