Need advice on what to buy - £2000 budget

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all

This is my first post so please be nice :)

I am totally new to buying hifi equipment, unless you count an all in 1 system. Anyway, I have been meaning to replace my speakers for some time as they crackled a lot, the other day the amp exploded and now I am sans music.

I have bought the latest What Hi-Fi mag, but even after reading the jargon section at the back I am still no closer to knowing what I want and need.

Basically I am after a speaker system, and I already have the following to go with it:
  • Stanton STR8.150 turntable - has phono and digital out
  • XBOX 360 - digital out
  • Toshiba HDTV - I forget the model, not sure if I can even connect this to an amp as I can't get to the back of it to look
  • Macbook Pro - Not sure how I would connect this up.
I am after some speakers, an amp and wire/cable.

Primarily will be used for music from the turntable and mp3s on my Mac. My tastes range from heavy metal/dnb/hip hop/jazz/indie... pretty much anything other than pop music, something bass heavy and driving would be needed, but at the same time would pick up on the intricacies of the music. I have a smallish room, so nothing too big. Would prefer an integrated amp if this means I only need the 1 box (as I said i'm pretty much clueless when it comes to this and I don't have a great deal of room).

I've set a budget at £2000. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

A

Anonymous

No suggestions?

After reading reviews for the B&W XT4's they sound incredible, and possibly exactly what I am after. I'll need to find somewhere that will demo them now.

So if I bought these what kind of amp would I need? I read the speakers are very power hungry...also I need to do something about the digital out I have on the turntable and XBOX... I've not seen any amps yet with digital inputs, so i'm wondering if there is an AV selector or something along those lines?