NAS Ripper 2

Shanka

Jan 10, 2011
Visit site
Hi again,

Thought I would start a new thread on this, I am looking at the following 3 options

LIV Juke http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LIV-Juke-2Tb-Vortexbox-Ripping-Music-Server-Sonos-Squeezebox-Smart-TV-/261079402974?_trksid=p5197.m1992&_trkparms=aid%3D111000%26algo%3DREC.CURRENT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D14%26meid%3D2752386068474729150%26pid%3D100015%26prg%3D1006%26rk%3D2%26sd%3D230865515772%26

LIV Zen http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LIV-Zen-2Tb-Vortexbox-CD-Ripping-Music-Server-NAS-for-Naim-Linn-Sonos-Squeezebox-/260983024598?pt=UK_Computing_Servers&hash=item3cc3ccebd6

Vortexbox http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320992355002?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

To me they all seem to do much the same but this is an area I am no expert in.
I will be speaking to LIV today to see why the Zen is more than the Juke and what justifies the extra cash.
The vortexbox I have seen refered to here with good reviews.

I am not looking to use a seperate NAs and ripping through my laptop nor am I looking for any other software loading, hardware configuring option.
I have seen other NAS rippers which cost nearly twice as much but find the cost hard to justify at that level.

Does anyone know or can see what the differences between these are or have any good input regarding which one I should go for, I am groping around a bit in the dark here .

I will be using with a SBT and playing through a dac, probably mdac but not bought yet.

As ever any views, thoughts hugely appreciated,

Thanks again.

cheeseboy

Jul 17, 2012
Visit site
in essence, they are all the same - a basic atom based pc.

The price difference between the Juke and the Zen is that the Zen has much more expensive case and an external power supply.

So long as you remember that there is absolutely nothing special or "audiophile" (not that there ever really can be audiophile network storage!) about these boxes. They are just standard pc's with Vortexbox loaded on them.