Naim v marantz

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

As I am just starting out in hifi I wondered if you could help me.at the moment I have a marantz pm6002 amp which I am quite happy with. Then I heard my uncles naim and it blew me away. This got me wanting to buy a naim hifi. His system was high end stuff costing many thousands.

My question is if I had a naim nac 112 pre and a naim nap 150 would it sound any better than my marantz

Thanks

A

Anonymous

Did you use your uncle's Naim amp with your speakers? If not could you do so? Or even bring your Marantz over to his house and try it with his speakers? That way it'll be clearer what part the Naim plays in the overall sound, and whether or not it'd be worth buying one to use with your speakers.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
No need to spend that much on a Naim power/pre to better the Marantz.

A Nait 5i or Nait XS will do the job.

If you wand to spend out a bit, then try the new NaimUniti 2. (Whole system in one box.)

How much can you spend and what do you need?

Fair enough question, but it's a bit like saying would a Porsche go faster than my Focus. Well, yes, but so might an Audi or a Ferrari. They would all blow you away!

Naim make some great products and have a particular sound. Many other makes would have impressed you in much the same way.

As others have said, if you can detail all your compenents, room size and musical preferences, along with a budget, you will get some relevant answers.

A

Anonymous

Thank you all for your replys. In answer to your questions I can't try my uncles gear as he is in Ireland. At the moment I have a marantz pm6002 amp, marantz sa7003 cd player and a pair of monitor audio br5 speakers. I have just purchased a naim nac 112 pre amp and am looking for a nap 150 power amp. My room is only small 13ft x 10ft my music taste is anything from crass to classical

lindsayt

Apr 8, 2011
Visit site