My Yamaha RX-A2020 review

Oldboy

Sep 13, 2007
Visit site
So a few days ago the 2020 finally arrived and as a few people asked for my opinions on another thread I thought I would post a little review after my first few days with it but I'm not very good with reviews so bear with me, here goes....

First impressions after taking it out of it's enormous, heavy box are that it's HUGE. The depth of this receiver is considerable and something to bear in mind if you are in the market for one, the build quality is top notch and it feels solid and built to last with two high quality dials on the front that are satisfying to use. The front of the unit is mainly of solid metal construction with the top 3rd of the front fascia a plastic affair which houses the display which is very clear and compliments the overall aesthetic of the unit, it's a very nice piece of kit from the front and the pleasing way in which the door opens to reveal the buttons just adds to the appeal.

Round the back it's just as comprehensive and it's a 9.2 receiver with connections aplenty with nothing left out that I could find, the speaker connections are of high quality and all the connections feel solid.

Set up is as simple or more complex as you would like, you can use the YPAO calibration mic to do a quick calibration from your main seating position or alternatively a more complex calibration from 8 positions (which I chose to do) and the results are impressive and accurate. Distances needed only minimal adjustment but speaker sizes were set incorrectly in my system as it set them all to large, in my opinion only my fronts should be set this way.