My speakers makes noises when playing bass

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hey, I have been using a Hifi setup for my TV for a couple of years now and it is starting to become very frustrating that whenever I play music, games or movies with a heavy enough bass sound at some points, it makes this rythmical vibrating noise as if the stuff inside is being tossed around at every beat. The set is currently placed besides my Tv and consoles and in the case under these are all my DVD, Blu-Ray and game cases and I have been thinking about if they would be the source but when I tried to remove the speakers and held them in the air or placed them on my stone floor the sounds did not stop. I have also tried different speakers and they make the same noise.

My set consists of a Denon PMA-500AE integrated amp (I know it's not a good amp but I don't have a lot of money) and two Cerwin-Vega VE-5M's. I don't have the faintest idea of why they make this noise but if anyone is able to solve this problem I would be very thankful :)

MattSPL

Jan 4, 2010
Visit site
If you have tried different speakers and they make the same noise then the problem must be elsewhere in the system.

As it happens no matter what source you use, it sounds like the amp is at fault.

Firstly, try and clean all connections and if your speaker wire has bare end's, cut the bare copper off and re-strip them.

If none of this help's, you may have a problem with the amp itself.

A

Anonymous

If I remember correctly then the cables are actually not entirely inside the speakers - I'll try and cut a bit off and listen then. Thanks for your input :)

A

Anonymous

Now I have made sure that every cable is securely plugged in both directions but sadly the speakers still makes the noises :( Any other ideas?

MattSPL

Jan 4, 2010
Visit site
If you tried other speakers and they made the same noise, it must be the amp causing the problem. See if you can borrow or try another amp in place of yours.

A

Anonymous