Music that makes you laugh or smile

margetti

May 29, 2008
Visit site
I have been enjoying listening to Flight of the Choncords on the daily commute into work (central London) this week - there's nothing quite like having a chuckle or smile to one's self when all around are looking like they'd rather be anywhere but...

Anyone got any recommendations for anything similar - I'm not talking Chas 'n' Dave here - something with at least a hint of a tune...!

Simon Lucas

Jun 5, 2007
Visit site
I had a smile to Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers on the drive home yesterday. Particularly Government Centre, New Teller and I Was Dancing in the Le$bian Bar.

Sorreltiger

Apr 22, 2008
Visit site
'My Wife is on a Diet' by Leslie Sarony. It's just one of the tracks I've been astonished to find on Spotify. I have the original 78 (I used to collect them when I was a a student!) The words are very silly and non-PC, but I love the band - 1920s I think.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
Some classic Half Man Half Biscuit - such as Joy Division Oven Gloves - never fails. Don't think they're on Spotify, though. Great site here, though, including links to downloads of all their John Peel sessions.

hammill

Mar 20, 2008
Visit site
Depends on your taste, but Monty Pythons Contractual Obligation Album makes me laugh. "All Things Dull & Ugly" is a particular favourite.

Also, Tom Lehrer is very funny.

margetti

May 29, 2008
Visit site
Cheers everyone - wasn't sure I'd get such a good response... will have to wait until I get home - got caught by none other than the IT Director himself playing Spotify at work yesterday. He membled something about bandwidth - he clearly hasn't seen how many PC's in the organisation are running something off Youtube at any given moment in time!

A

Anonymous