MS40 vs. AV 40 for connecting to PC

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

Lately, I've been looking for better quality speakers for my PC (Dell dimension 9200 with default sound card). I've been using the default analogue speakers for a few years, but suffice to say they're junk. I've just found out that my PC happens to have a S/PDIF output. Unfortunately, I don't really have the budget to just a buy a separate receiver for my PC. So I came across the Behringer MS-40. This particular pair of speakers is the only one I was able to find that has an optical input functionality for the relatively low price. Another set I came across was the AV 40. The AV 40 doesn't have the optical input but it seems to receive very positive reviews. From what I've read, AV 40 is handling the sound a little bit better than the MS40. On the other hand, it doesn't have the optical input. I find it hard to decide which one to pick, especially since I have no experience with any digital sound. Of course the question is: which one would you advise me, and why?

Thanks! :)

BTW. It's maybe good to note, that although both are monitor speakers, I will mostly use them for other purposes like playing music or movies. Again, they're one of the few I could find that don't really require a receiver, so that why I'm considering these.

A

Anonymous

Does nobody know this? I really don't know which one I should take.

A

Anonymous

I have the MS40s and M-Audio DX4s which I think are the previous (similar?) model to the AV 40s.

For desktop listening at moderate volumes I prefer the DX4s, but if you want to fill a room with a bit more sound you are much better off with the MS40s. The MS40s are a lot bigger and go louder than the DX4s, but for low volume background listening I prefer the DX4s.

I have not heard them but from the specs the MS20s are more similar to the AV 40s.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for you response!