Monitor Audio Bronze BX2, Sound too bright

schuyuan

Jan 11, 2015
Visit site
just got a set of Monitor Audio Bronze BX2 pairing with Marantz PM6005 a couple days ago, the overall impression is that:

It is bright, very bright

It has a booming bass, but seems no mid gound, i.e. drum is booming, volin is bright, but viola is thin.

Similar situation regardless it is Apple lossless through Dacmagic XS or the built in Optical input.

It is rather disappointing, because I listen to spoken words and classical quite a lot, and they all sound rather bright and thin, apart from occasional drum bits. e.g. the begining of Mahler’s Ressurrection, the cellos are just weak, but when the drums kicked in it booming and not articulated. I am new to Hifi, the only comparison I have is a pair of B&W P7 headphone, and I used to have a set of Tannoy Perstige many years ago. I bought this combo without auditioning, just by simple recommendation of this very magazine, I thought my requirement is rather low, just a smooth vocal will do. however it turned out to this this bright.

It took me a while to set this system up—by unknowingly wiring the cable to the B speakers output—has I done anything else wrong? for instance, shall I go bi-wire? Does wiring to top part of the speaker connectors make a difference? (I presume not, there is a metal plate to connect the top and the bottom, could be wrong though). I read one comment that the speakers are very bright when they are new, it will mellow out after a copule of weeks, I am rather skeptical of this "burn-in" theory, could this be ture?

Thanks,

sy

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site
If you can, return the speakers for a refund / exchange.

That is exactly how they sound to me and many other users, how they get the reviews and recomendations that they do is a mystery to me and many other enthusiasts.

schuyuan

Jan 11, 2015
Visit site