Mixing different brands of speakers

Hi!

I'm new to the whole hi-fi world and have a simple (I quess) question.

I have a HarmanKardon AVR 255 AV-receiver with a 5.1 HKTS 16 speaker set. The subwoofer died a few weeks ago and I replaced the subwoofer with a Klipsch R-110SW. A big upgrade in sound quality if you ask me.

Being all enthousiastic I just orders a pair of B&W 685 S2 speakers to replace the front speakers, which according to several reviews are great. In my opinion 500+ euro are a lot of money for a pear of speaker, although I quess this is relative.

Now, I suddenly wonder... Was it a stupid choice to order B&W instead of Klipsch speakers? Does it matter these are all different brands? Ofcourse I intend to replace the center and surround speakers with B&W brand in time as well...

Thank you for your input!

macdiddy

Sep 3, 2010
Visit site
about using the B&W's with the Klipsch subwoofer, I used to use a different make of subwoofer from the rest of my speakers, as long as everying is setup ok then no problems.

One thing I would say is you should try to buy the matching centre speaker asap to acheive a more balanced sound across the front soundstage, the matching rears can wait until you can afford them.

*music2*

jmjones

Mar 8, 2009
Visit site
Hi Maarten,

People will tell you to stick with the same brand, but I would suggest a sub-woofer is the least difficult thing to integrate. I would stick with the same brand for the others though. The B&Ws should work out fine.

Vladimir

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
I've read on HT forums that it's preferable to have the LCR speakers from the same model lineup in order to have them timbraly matched. Subs and backs not deemed so crucial. You can do your own research and decide if timbral matching matters to you.

Thank you for the answers, that comforts me!