Listening to my RP1 with headphones (distortion)

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi guys,

I'm new to vinyl and having problems with my set up.

I have a Rega RP1 turntable into a Rega Fono Mini preamp into a Denon PMA-255UK amp.

At the moment I just listen to music on headphones (Sennheiser HD 280 pro) plugged into the headphone socket of the amp.

I'm not expecting mega audiophile quality sound, but I'm pretty sure my set up isn't sounding quite as it should do. I listen mainly to rock and pop and on the louder tracks I notice some distortion, particularly on the vocals.

I'm pretty sure it's not a problem with the vinyl as I got it with new vinyl as well.

I'm guessing it might be the headphones not being suitable, or requiring a headphone amp between them and the Denon ?

Or a problem with cartridge alignment?

Any ideas?

Thanks!

A

Anonymous

Lost angeles, I have some bookshelf speakers which I tried. Hard to tell if the distortion was there as one speaker wasn't working properly. I'll seek out another pair of headphones and try that, good idea.

A

Anonymous

mitch65, thanks for the tips. By 'tracking' do you mean matching the tracking weight of the cartridge (in my case 1.75 with the Ortofon) with the slider on the turntable, moving that to 1.75 as well?

No idea how to check cartridge alignment but I guess I can find out online. Any recommended books on turntable set-up? it seems like quite a tech subject for a beginner and it would be good to do it properly. Thanks!

mitch65

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
BoogieKnight said:
mitch65, thanks for the tips. By 'tracking' do you mean matching the tracking weight of the cartridge (in my case 1.75 with the Ortofon) with the slider on the turntable, moving that to 1.75 as well?

No idea how to check cartridge alignment but I guess I can find out online. Any recommended books on turntable set-up? it seems like quite a tech subject for a beginner and it would be good to do it properly. Thanks!