Leema update - very strange.

Just phoned for a progress report. They can't find anything wrong with the headphone socket. This is puzzling as I've tried it on two sets of phones and the results are identical. The phones work fine on the Arcam and the PC.

They're going to re-cable the headphones, to be on the safe side, and they'll ship it back to me early next week.

iQ Speakers

Feb 24, 2013
Visit site
PP do you usually have the amp running for a long time prior to using the headphones? It may be a heat related problem that only shows up if the amp is hot.

The service guys will simply get the amp out try the headphones and if they hear no buzz all is fine. So you will need to direct them if you only used the heahphone socket when the amp was warm. ( i used to be a electronics engineer)

floyd droid said:
I've forgot what the problem was exactly.

When you plug the phones in it loses most of the volume and it sounds almost like one channel isn't working, although there is sound. It's like playing your favourite tracks with the speakers in a cupboard. It sounds fine on the RS6s but you have to crank it up to around 11 o'clock to get the same amount of sound as the speakers - and it badly distorts.

In fact on headphones it sounds louder and better on the Arcam Alpha.

boggit said:
PP do you usually have the amp running for a long time prior to using the headphones? It may be a heat related problem that only shows up if the amp is hot.

The service guys will simply get the amp out try the headphones and if they hear no buzz all is fine. So you will need to direct them if you only used the heahphone socket when the amp was warm. ( i used to be a electronics engineer)

Actually that's a really good point. Not thought of that, but they're going to re-wire the headphones before returning.

I feel fairly gloomy. It makes me seem like a pedantic old EDITED when I never usually complain...

floyd droid

Sep 5, 2008
Visit site