Is streamer any better than airport express and DAC

Woodchippie

Oct 16, 2012
Visit site
Is it worth buying a network streamer, or is using an airport express to Rega DAC controlled with ipad just as good?

Or are there ways of improving my set up to save buying dedicated streamer?

Fuzzy Bear

Jan 19, 2009
Visit site
Depends on which streamer really.

I looked at that combo a while back, and was very impressed by it.

You can often improve but that costs money.

Twill

Oct 6, 2007
Visit site
Excuse my ignorance, but can someone explain to me how the AEx works as a streamer? I know it's Airplay compatible and has an optical out, so presumably you could easily do Airplay in to a DAC, but how does it work as a full-on streamer?

Can it work with a NAS? With a PC - or only through iTunes? Does it push or pull?

I'm totally new to the idea of an AEx as a streamer, and just wondered what the basics were, what it could do, and how it might better an ATV in this regard?

Cheers.

gregvet

Dec 24, 2008
Visit site
Any mac/pm/ithingy will stream to an airport express. From iTunes you choose the airport express (which you can name anything you like, useful if you have multiple ones) as the output source.

If you have your iTunes library on a nas then you can use that, but the mac still needs to be on. You can control the mac from the iPhone etc using the apple remote app so the music doesn't have to be on the phone.

Most users find it works really well and is very simple. The output is bit perfect, so the quality can be excellent with a good dac.

The AEX can't do anything higher the cd quality (no hi res files), and is limited to file formats compatible with iTunes (no flac), otherwise it's pretty amazing for the price.

As said above, you may get better but you will pay considerably more for it.

A

Anonymous

Some NAS boxes have built in 'iTunes servers', if you have a iDevice you can access this and push the audio to the AEX, or like you said with a PC or NAS on.