admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm a newbie here, so apologies in advance if I am in the wrong place or ask silly questions.

What is the best way to listen to the music stored on an ipad in your home (other than using headphones)?

I see there are currently no ipad music docking stations, but there is an Apple docking station which has a wire which can connect to your hi-fi (if I understand that right?)

What is the best solution to get good quality sound at home? Budget up to £400.

Thanks

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Apple TV + an external DAC (the Arcam rDAC fits in your budget) would be one solution. With the latest iOS 4.2, you can stream music direct from your iPad to the Apple TV, which would then have an optical connection into the rDAC. The rDAC then connects into your hifi using standard RCA phono lead. This would mean you could still use the iPad on your couch and choose different tracks, browse the internet etc. at the same time, since the music would be streamed wirelessly to the Apple TV.

This would also allow you to stream video etc. from the iPad to your TV if you hooked the Apple TV up via HDMI.

DandyCobalt

Oct 8, 2010
Visit site
As you have an iPad, I assume you have a computer with iTunes? How about...buy an Apple TV (£99) which would connect to your amplifier (and via wifi to your computer). Then use the Apple Remote App available on your iPad to pick and choose what music you want to hear from your iTunes music that would stream from the computer to the Apple TV. Works very nicely, and means you're not limited to the storage capacity of your ipad.

Also, means that you can be in the armchair browsing and changing music via the iPad without any wires. Very cool.

A

Anonymous

Yes, have a mac with itunes.

Excuse my ignorance, but my television and my hifi are in seperate rooms?

Does Apple TV need to be plugged into the television or the hi-fi.

A

Anonymous