How to improve computer based music sound.

MiddleMan

Jan 23, 2008
Visit site
I am just getting into this music streaming lark and maybe one day it will fully replace my CD collection and CD player. It is the future right?

However, unlike upgrading a CD player to improve sound, how do you upgrade the sound on hard drive based music. Apart from adding a DAC and the obligigatory upgrade of amp and speakers, there is no other way of upgrading the source component right?

How much extra can you extract from a lossless audio file with the DAC being the only thing connecting it to the amp. A high end CD player will reveal more detail than a cheap model, but how does this relate to stored audio or am I missing something?

A

Anonymous

i think it's the same thing, a cdp reads the digital data from a cd and channels it through it's inbuilt dac for decoding to analogue, a pc reads/transports the digital data from a file or from spotify etc, and sends it to whatever dac is being used. i think any difference would be down to the ability of the different dacs, presuming they are different.

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
That's pretty much it, you can't do anything to the file to improve the sound, anymore than you can do anything to a CD to improve the sound, so if you want to upgrade the sound you're pretty much left with upgrading the DAC.

A

Anonymous

If you have a sound card (Ausentech) with a built in DAC must you use a additional DAC as well?

iMark

MiddleMan:
How much extra can you extract from a lossless audio file with the DAC being the only thing connecting it to the amp. A high end CD player will reveal more detail than a cheap model, but how does this relate to stored audio or am I missing something?

It all has to do with error correction that is used in redbook CD's. The better your CD player is, the better the error correction will be and this will improve the sound quality.