How to get better sound from speakers/stereo amp system

Cd7

Jan 31, 2022
Visit site
Hi,

I hope this post finds you well.

Earlier this month I ordered a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 12.3 Speakers.

Last week, I ordered a NAD D 3020 Hybrid Digital DAC Amplifier.

These items were both bought to pair up with my new PS-HX500 Sony Turntable.

Last night, I linked up the sound system with KabelDirekt Pure Copper Stereo Audio Speaker Wire.

After doing this and playing a record, I was able to hear sound coming from both Wharfedale Speakers on either side of my TV stand, however the sound was very very low and tinny.

I don't quite know what to do next as I'm very new to all of this, so would really appreciate some advice.

If anymore information is needed please ask.

Thank you in advance.

Cd7

Jan 31, 2022
Visit site
Yes, they are still attached as they came with the speakers already on the terminals. Is it best to remove them?

Check the switch on the back.of your turntable, is it set to phono?
How is the turntable connected to the amp?
is that amp the original version or does it have a pair of inputs on the back called PHONO?
Do you have any other source like a CD player you could attach?
Asking as the original version of the NAD did not have an inbuilt phono stage, however your turntable does so the position of that switch on the back of it is critical. Move switch to LINE, then see what it sounds like. Turn down volume on your amp first though

Last edited:

Cd7

Jan 31, 2022
Visit site
The turntable is connected via the phono cables that came with the turntable in the box and the switch is set to phono too.

I also connected my phone to the stereo amplifier via the Bluetooth setting and the speakers sounded the same also - sorry, should have put that originally!

Gray

Yes, they are still attached as they came with the speakers already on the terminals. Is it best to remove them?