Horrible Buzzing From Inside BDP After loading Burnt DVD

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
I've just downloaded and burnt a copy of the AVS HD 709 calibration disc from here, and when it loads on my BDP there is a horrible whine followed by a dreadful buzzing noise as though something is damaged - or being damaged - inside the player.

Now it displays on screen just fine, and I've loaded 3 seperate movie discs afterwards without incident, so anyone any ideas as to why a burnt DVD would have this effect? *worried*

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
Thanks for that BB.

This is the first DVD I've ever burnt so I'm a total novice I'm afraid! I've re-loaded it several times with the same result, and even if it may be nothing to worry about the sheer noise makes it unuseable. Forgive my ignorance, but would perhaps a different brand of DVD be worth a shot? Thanks.

Yes, changing the brand of the DVD disc may help, as it's often a defect in the manufacturing process. Also, some DVDs have large stickers stuck on them which again can make them unbalanced. Maybe buying DVDs without any stickers on are better.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
I used to use TDK or Maxell CDs. The ones that came in full size jewel cases in packs of 10.

Even now (some 5 years on) they are still perfectly playable. (Albeit redundant now.)

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
Thanks again BB.

Have since tried another Verbatim disc (part of a batch from years ago, neither have stickers on) with exactly the same result. I'll try some cheapos from tescos later and see how they get on.

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
BenLaw said:
I've always bought verbatim and never had a problem, but could be a bad batch.

I have two batches Ben.