HOME CINEMA HELP FOR A NOVICE PLEASE!!!!

gareth133

Oct 26, 2010
Visit site
Hi,

I'm a total novice to this sort of thing and would appreciate some help in getting the best from my system.

To cut a long story short, 5 years ago I was impressed enough to buy a Bose Acoustimass 10 Series III with a Panasonic SA-XR50 amplifier after hearing a demonstration. I was young and stupid and rushed straight in head first to buy the system without reading reviews or listening to other systems. To be honest, I've never had the best out of the system and have never used it to its full potential. I now want that to change...

I understand that most people here don't rate Bose but unfortunately I'm now stuck with it as a new baby is due soon and I can't justify replacing it just now. I just want to set it up properly and use it to its full potential. Therefore I have the following questions:

1. I'd like to upgrade the amplifier to one that can work in conjunction with my Panasonic BD-60 Blu-Ray player, Samsung HD TV and Sky HD box. I can spend up to £400 but would prefer less if possible. What amplifier would best compliment this system for HD sound?

2. I only have the standard Bose speaker cables running from my Acoustimass Module to the double-cube speakers and amplifier. I understand from reading reviews that it is not possible to upgrade these to a better standard of cable. Is this true? If not, what cable would improve the system?

3. Is it worth upgrading my standard HDMI cables? Does it make a difference to picture/sound? If so, what cable is recommended?

4. My Bose double-cube speakers are currently on stands. Is it true that the sound will improve if they are wall mounted or is this a myth originating from a misguided work colleague?