Home Cinema Amplifier - Video Upconversion or Upscaling **What Does It Mean?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there,

I am a total novice and want to dip my toes in the waters of home cinema surround sound. I have decided on what speakers I would like but have waited for the review of the SOny STR DH800 which is now out and did very well.

I do have one query though which I hope someone can explain to me.

The review states that it does not support Video Upconversion or Upscaling. What does this mean and what does it do on amps that do support it.

I am aiming to link the amp I finally get to my Samsung 40" LCD tv, my SKy+ HD and Panasonic DMP 30 Blu Ray player by HDMI (unless that is not correct and some of them should be linked direct, can someone please advise?).

Many thanks for reading this, it is really heartening to know there is a community out there who can help novices like me!

Have a great day.

Stu

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
Stubarney:
Hi there,

I am a total novice and want to dip my toes in the waters of home cinema surround sound. I have decided on what speakers I would like but have waited for the review of the SOny STR DH800 which is now out and did very well.

I do have one query though which I hope someone can explain to me.

The review states that it does not support Video Upconversion or Upscaling. What does this mean and what does it do on amps that do support it.

I am aiming to link the amp I finally get to my Samsung 40" LCD tv, my SKy+ HD and Panasonic DMP 30 Blu Ray player by HDMI (unless that is not correct and some of them should be linked direct, can someone please advise?).

Many thanks for reading this, it is really heartening to know there is a community out there who can help novices like me!

Have a great day.

Stu