Home cinema advice: the battle between aesthetics and acoustics

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there

I'm currently in the market to install my first dedicated home cinema sound system. I've been given the go-ahead from the Missus to spend the money, but as we all often experience, she is more concerned with the aesthetics of the system rather than the acoustics, so we need to reach that compromise. On the bright side, it is likely to allow me to spend a little more to get a good looking system!

I should say I'm a complete novice at home sound systems. Right now I've got my eye on the Denon AVR-1910 as a receiver. Speaker-wise I want to avoid satellite speakers (apart from surround left and right), and would love floorstanders for left and right channels. To that end I've got my eye on the Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3, which in black would suit the look of the setup perfectly (see pic).

(for reference, that is a 40" Samsung B650)

The main issue I have is the centre speaker. The centre for the Neo range - and most other ranges from most other manufacturers - is massive. With my setup there's nowhere to put it; on the same shelf as the TV the speaker would block some of the image (as well as the IR receiver). There's no space on the shelves below either. Is there any compact centre speaker that will match the remainder of the system I want to put in place? Is there any other advice you can give me?

The budget for this system, by the way, is kind of dependent on an overtime payment in April, so we have time... I'm also considering starting with amp and LR with maybe a centre, then adding SR and SL and the sub as money allows.

Cheers!

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
What sort of budget do you have for the speakers? Have you thought about Monitor Audio's Radius HD range? They're a little on the expensive side, but sound great and are all quite compact. You can get some very slim floorstanders, even though they're £600 per pair.