Hifi newbie

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi there!

Ok, so I am very new to this and I would like to upgrade my Hifi, but I am not sure where to start.

I've got an old Sony FM-receiver (STR-DE205), which I am currently using as my amp. I just bought new speakers: modaunt short mezzo 2 and I've got a turntable (omnitronic BD1520) and an ipod dock from apple.

I play most of the music through the ipod dock (because I don't have an CD player).

I listen to a lot of classical music, maybe some jazz. So the problem is that the sound just isn't very engaging and it is difficult to listen to different melody lines within one piece.

So I am currently thinking of buying a new amp (cambridge audio or Rotel???) or a CD player (no idea which, preferably one with a good Headphone jack) or some nice headphones or....

Which equipment (amp or Cd player) are best bought second hand and what should I be looking for in an amp/ a cd player?

please help!!! Thanks sooo much!

A

Anonymous

Hello Vicv and welcome.

Since no-one has posted anything to help, I will.
emotion-1.gif

Your parameters are too wide. First of all, state your budget and that goes a long way to filtering out kit etc.

You have decent speakers so with those, I would go for a £250-300 amp. Your speakers can handle 120 watts so that gives you some idea. A little more would not do any harm as long as you don't give them full tilt! Reviews on here will help but please try and listen to kit at a decent dealer with your favorite CDs.

How about a NAD C326BEE as a starter? Coupled with a NAD C545BEE CD player? Some decent cables (but don't go OTT - try Silver High Breed for £25 or so, and some reasonable bi-wire for the speaker cable)

mushroomgod

May 25, 2009
Visit site
I have both of the Nad items mentioned above (and B&W 685) and they sound fantastic.