Help with speaker purchase

reverendo

Jun 2, 2010
Visit site
Hi there,

this is my first post here.

I live in Brazil and I'll be traveling to London in early July. I intend to buy a pair of floorstanders.

My associated gear is:

Squeezebox Duet (with Welborne PS)>Camelot Technology Uther 2.0 MkIV (Dac/Pre)>Gryphon Tabu 2/onehundred

My living room is 5,5x6,5m, but use only the first half of it for music. I'll paste here what I wrote in the Pink Fish Media forum in order to give you an idea what I'm looking for:

I'm looking for a system that is as neutral and exact as possible without losing musicality. If I HAD to chose what is most important to me I'd say that imaging, soundstage and focus (which are co-related) would be on the top of my list. I love pin-point imaging and it is very important to me (sth my current speakers are not very good at), since I often listen analytically. I study orchestral scores with my system (I studied Composition) and also write orchestral arrangements so layering, LR positioning and separation not only of the instrument groups, but also of the musicians is important to me. I don't want it to get to the point where the music is only the result of the sum of different parts, losing musicality, but I would like to have speakers that let me analyze what I'm listening to when I feel like it. Since I'm not into that euphonic kind of sound I'm not much into omni-speakers, though the one I listened to sounded very nice (B&O Beolab 5). OTOH having a sound that is virtually untraceable to the speakers has always been a dream.