Help required - complete novice and Sonos!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Morning everyone!

I need some basic assistance (or an idiots guide) as my Sonos gear is about to arrive...

1 X Sonos Zone Bridge BR100

2 X Sonos ZPS5 Players

1 X Buffalo NAS 1TB

That was the easy bit (buying it...) now comes the bit which has me so confused I'm wondering if I will ever sort it...

I need to convert my CD collection to digital music, using iTunes (I guess?)

Questions therefore are:

1) what format do I need to import the CD's in? (MP4, MP3, Apple lossless etc etc etc)

2) If I import them straight onto my PC first (NAS arrives in a few days) can I then move them across easily?

We have 2 iPhone's in the house, and whilst we don't have them stacked with music, how do these fit into the equation? (i.e. what files does iPhone need the music in?)

I'm about 99% ready to invest in an iMac (fed up with lousy PC's) and have an iPad coming aswell, as this will be useful when I travel with work, but also handy as the Sonos controller

The idea is to end up with Sonos everywhere in the house, but that can't happen until I have worked out how to make it all work in the first place!

Any suggestions/pointers would be greatfully received, but please remember I am somewhat confused already, so try and keep it simple for me!! (ha ha!)

Thanks in anticipation

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
peetbarker:
Morning everyone!

I need some basic assistance (or an idiots guide) as my Sonos gear is about to arrive...

1 X Sonos Zone Bridge BR100

2 X Sonos ZPS5 Players

1 X Buffalo NAS 1TB

That was the easy bit (buying it...) now comes the bit which has me so confused I'm wondering if I will ever sort it...

I need to convert my CD collection to digital music, using iTunes (I guess?)

That's up to you really, there's plenty of other options but all things considered that might be the easiest thing to do.