Help me with a DAC

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

I need some help choosing my new DAC for my headphones rig

I'm currently using a Sonos Zone Player (wired to the router), feeding a Valab NOS dac and my Woo 3 tube amp. My headphones are the HD650.

I listen only to classical music, and while I really really love the signature of the Valab with small ensemble (string quartets, piano trio and chamber music in general) I can't stand it for complex symphonic music. Listening to Mahler's symphony or Rachmaninoff concertos is quite a pain: distortion and congested soundstage are pretty evident.

I've tried several dacs, but I've never been completely happy: the Dacmagic was way too bright, the Benchmark sterile...I've been using for 5 months a Audio-GD Ref.5 and that was quite good, though dynamics weren't top notch.

Any recommendation? Budget is below £1000

Thanks!

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
realmassy:

Hi all,

I'm currently using a Sonos Zone Player (wired to the router), feeding a Valab NOS dac and my Woo 3 tube amp. My headphones are the HD650.

I listen only to classical music, and while I really really love the signature of the Valab with small ensemble (string quartets, piano trio and chamber music in general) I can't stand it for complex symphonic music. Listening to Mahler's symphony or Rachmaninoff concertos is quite a pain: distortion and congested soundstage are pretty evident.

I've tried several dacs, but I've never been completely happy: the Dacmagic was way too bright, the Benchmark sterile...I've been using for 5 months a Audio-GD Ref.5 and that was quite good, though dynamics weren't top notch.

Thanks!

Dacmagic bright? Benchmark, sterile? You are hard to please!

A

Anonymous

Gerrardasnails:Dacmagic bright? Benchmark, sterile? You are hard to please!

I had to return the Dacmagic to Richersounds after two days, I really didn't like it.