HDMI problems with my Marantz SR6003

Heyjijdaar

Jun 21, 2009
Visit site
I'm quite new to home cinema with equipment like the Marantz SR6003. It would been nice to experience all the fruits, and not the problems that currently ruining my experience.

I have got lots of problems with my HDMI connections. I will tell you about this, can you tell me if the problems are normal.

I have got a Marantz SR6003 bought in juni last year. The Marantz HDMI board was broken and fixed by the factory in September 2009. I'm set up now, with some nice Quad's 21L2 and 9L2's. Combined with a Samsung LED tv, Cisco cable receiver, Philips HDMI DVD and a Western Digital Live HD. All wired with decent HDMI cables, even two ThatCable 5 stars cables.

[*]When the setup is off, and I want to look at the TV, I turn on the TV first, then the Marantz SR6003, then my Cisco setup box. I'm patient, so I give the TV and the Marantz enough time to start up and recognize each other. However when I put on the Cisco the Marantz doesn't always pickup the signal. I've got snow, but I've got sounds from the Cisco. Or I have got picture with white spots and no sound. To make this work again I will have got to put the Cisco off and on again and most of the times it works. Above method gives this problem 5 times out of 10.
[*]When I use the Harmony One, and the setup is off, and I want to look at the TV, I turn on the TV first,
then the Marantz SR6003, then my Cisco setup box. However the Harmony One sometimes turn ons the Cisco before the Marantz. I will have got to put the Cisco off and on again and most of the times
it works. The Marantz SR6003 doesn't connect probably 8 out of 10.[*]The Western Digital Live HD and Philips HDMI DVD also gives similar problems.
Is it normal to experience problems all the time when connected to HDMI?

ps. I'm from the Netherlands, hope my English isn't too bad!

davejberry

Mar 29, 2009
Visit site