HD TV for SD & HD Viewing in Asia - Help

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi All,

Fantastic site and contributions - I'm new to all this and it's been a great support in getting my head round what's available. However, I could do with some help on a problem if anyone can comment (I apologise in advance for the length of this post but thought it better to explain!)

I have recently moved abroad (Delhi, India) from London and the market here is slightly behind the UK / Western Europe in terms of product availability although it's still not bad. I had a 2008 Panasonic PX42 Plasma but have left that behind for my tennants (it was great).

I'm going to buy a new TV here and am having some problem choosing. I had originally settled on the Samsung LED UEC8000 46in (I have 11 - 12 Feet viewing space depending on Sofa / Mounting position). Reading the reviews etc I was keen to take advantage of the 2D HD & 3D capability for DVD (I'm not a gamer) but hadn't really considered TV input other than what I'm used to from the UK (I used Sky HD).

Having been in the showroom to view the TV in action, whilst the quality for HD and 3D content was stunning, the SD pciture from the Sky equivalent (Airtel / TataSky) was very very poor (grainy, motion blur? etc) and this is actually going make up at least 50% of my day to day viewing. The service providers do have HD content but it is very very limited here at the moment although improving. When I posed this problem to the "expert" in store, in broken English he suggested I look at a Plasma rather than LCD - I get a similar impression from posts here relative to the "softer" picture and ability to upscale?. I was very excited about having the sharpness of an LED but am feeling a little deflated now.

As such, please could someone help with some advice based on the following requirements:

46 or 50 Inch Screen (based on 11ft viewing) - Budget is about £1200 - £1400.