Have succombed to computer music

Richard Allen

Jan 9, 2010
Visit site
Hi.

Well, I'm sorry to admit it but I think I've succombed to using my laptop as my main music source as opposed to the CDP. I've just bought a Behringer UCA 202 USB DAC for £31.99 off Amazon. Not too bad if it's a pile of junk really. I already use their Ultradrive Pro DCX 2496 and it's a really good piece of kit and inexpensive.

I'm a speaker designer and that's what I know. This stuff??. All new to me. Who else has used Behringer products and what were their experiences and opinions?

matthewpiano

Behringer stuff is generally decent. Of their stuff I've used, in the past: active monitors; mixing desks; and microphones. Always found it to be reliable and as accurate sounding as you can expect for what is often a much lower price than equivalent Yamaha, Soundcraft etc.

Richard Allen

Jan 9, 2010
Visit site
As a newbie to digital formats, I don't want to waste my money. I haven't binned the CDP. OK. It's not the newest around but the Sony X33 ES does what I want it to do and I have been told that Sony DACs are some of the best around. Don't honestly know how true this is though.

If this 'cheap' alternative works, I'll probably upgrade it quite quickly. The 1 thing I like about this is the fact you can record and play through it. Asking a lot for £32 quid though, don't you think?

Richard Allen

Jan 9, 2010
Visit site
JohnDuncan:If t's USB you've done one of the best things you can do by getting the audio output away from the (electrically) noisy innards of your average PC...

Hi John. Yes, it's USB, phantom powered from the PC. In's and Out's analogue and converts them both ways. Even got a headphone amp in it. All for £32 quid delivered?, Hmmmmm!

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
JohnDuncan:If t's USB you've done one of the best things you can do by getting the audio output away from the (electrically) noisy innards of your average PC...