Good start point? Advice or general reassurance needed!!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello there

I've got a couple of questions I'm hoping some of you can help me out on. And please, bare with me on the absolute novice queries....

This will be my first home cinema set up and I've got my eye on a couple of separates so far. Namely the Denon 1910 or Sony DH800 receivers, and either the Q acoustics 2000, Jamo A102HCS5 or the newly reviewed Boston Acoustics speaker package. But herein lies the issue; I have no idea weather to get a DVD player or Blu Ray player, and haven't even started looking at TV's yet! I don't know much about Blu Ray or indeed upscaling DVD players. Am I correct in saying that upscaling is basically a way of improving picture quality to near Blu Ray quality?

My room is approx 35msq, and I would mostly be using the set up for movies and general TV viewing, but would also like a decent sound for music. The only real restriction on speakers is, no wall brackets.

As I'm sure you can tell, I'm taking most of the information off WHiFis Best Buy's, which is a good place to start I reckon. But my budget is somewhere between the budget and mid range systems. I'd like to spend a little more on the speakers than anything else, but am concerned that I'll be missing out on so much by not matching them with an amp or TV of equal or better quality. But unfortunately something has to give.

Another issue I have, and this one is causing me quite a headache. I will shortly be moving to Sweden, but I want to buy the items in the UK, and have them shipped over. My concern is the handling of items during transport and any warranty issues I may have outside of the UK. I don't plan on tampering with any of the plugs (my paranoia over the warranty again!), so will using an adaptor affect the quality of viewing at all (apologies if this is a very stupid question!)?