floorstanders v standmounts ...

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
im new to the world of seperate hifi systems , just wondering what are the main differences between the two types of speaker ?

im delighted with my own speakers and am certainly not planning on changing them for a very long time , just curious really ..

anyone care to enlighten me on the merits/advantages of both ? ta..

A

Anonymous

merits , advantages ?? not what they sit on
emotion-1.gif

A

Anonymous

ear:chokobolt...we were trying to avoid that...now he has to get a pair of standmounters..in your dreams , im head over heels with my rx6s , we will be together for the long haul , a speaker is for life , not just for may
emotion-10.gif
emotion-4.gif

A

Anonymous

and if i ask andrew to change my avatar again , i think i might be pushing it
emotion-10.gif

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
I'd actually disagree with that. I find standmounts can have a more accurate tonal balance with more detail in the midband and upper bass, and produce a more three dimensional soundstage.

emotion-1.gif

matthewpiano

One of the biggest conundrums of all I think!

I own both - 7 pairs of stand-mounts and a couple of pairs of floorstanders.

I find stand-mounts generally sound faster and more rhythmic (particularly the Roths!) and the imaging is usually more precise as well - the Quads and the Missions are particularly successful in this respect. The biggest drawback of smaller speakers, for me, is the slight lack of depth in the lower frequencies. I'm not talking about banging bass ala Cerwin Vega or Kenwood in-car kit, but the ability to reproduce the deepest resonances of a concert grand piano, the weight of lower brass instruments or the tonal characteristics of a bass guitar.