First thoughts after some very brief demos

BillDay66

Nov 30, 2010
Visit site
Hi all

I have been asking everyone the ins and outs of every product made for the last few weeks, so thought it only fair to share my thoughts on a few things after a very brief demo today. I'm no expert in these things but I'll convey what I thought as best as...

Incidentally strolled into Audio T and found the chap in there, Paul to be very helpful, I hadnt booked a demo or anything but as he wasn't that busy, he set up as much as possible in the 45 minutes I was there.

I have decided on a sonos system (lossless ALAC - hardwired zp90 - hardwired NAS - iPhone controller) also want to hook up an optical out from an LG TV and a PS3 so digital inputs are important.

Initially wanted to have a look at the Peachtree Nova as it ticks all the boxes above very well indeed (including the hole for a zp90) First impressions are that it is pig ugly! (IMHO) and cheap looking, when it was set up with some Kef Q300s and a cyrus cdp, have to say wasnt overly impressed -seemed to have no midrange with lots of highs and lows, swapping in some MA RX6s improved the sound but not much.

Then tried a Cyrus 8xpd qx with the same songs (Adele and Coldplay - I didnt plan this demo so didnt have anything of my own with me). With the Kefs - I nearly left the room! All I can say is that it was incredibly detailed but the female voice in particular was unbearably 'screaching'! gives me a headache thinking about it.The MA RX6 s made a dramatic improvement - still loads of detail and precision but with the highs toned down massively, being an ex arcam owner not sure if I could get used to this or not but it was certainly involving, still a bit bright though.