First system - advice needed :)

andydust

Apr 18, 2008
Visit site
Hey hey,

As a hi-fi newbie I thought I'd get some advice. I'm looking to create my first system involving a pair of bookshelf speakers, integrated amp and a single cd player. The system is for a bedroom (floor plan below post [ http://www.andrewdust.com/room.png ] ) and my budget is around £1000.

After doing some reading and research I've come up with this potential setup:

Speakers: Epos M12i | Amp: Marantz PM7001 | CD Player: Marantz CD6002

I also considered B&W 685 speakers and Rotel RA-04 amp.

What do you guys think? Any blatant problems, better suggestions, etc. Should I be spending more or less money on one particular component at the expense of another? Other than speaker cables and stands, are there any other vital accessories I will need to purchase?

Merry Christmas,

Andy.

room.png

t

fatboyslimfast

Jan 10, 2008
Visit site
Looks good. Are you planning on putting the speakers on the 12.9ft wall and then maybe a chair at the end/side of the bed?

I would budget around £40ish for speaker cable (something like the QED Silver anniversary or the Chord Carnival Silverscreen), and probably £40 for the interconnect between the CD and the Amp. (again probably the Chord Crimson).

Cypher

Jun 8, 2007
Visit site
Rotel RA-04

Marantz CD 6002

Dali Lektor 1

Amazing sound for not much money. The Dali Lektor 1 is such an amazing speaker. Best budget speakers I have ever heard in my life.

andydust

Apr 18, 2008
Visit site
Thanks for the replies so far !

fatboyslimfast: Are you planning on putting the speakers on the 12.9ft wall and then maybe a chair at the end/side of the bed?

Yep, that's exactly right :)

Terryff:Sorry if this is a little off topic Andy, what software did you use to create that picture?

I used SmartDraw ( http://www.smartdraw.com ).

I will look into the items that have been suggested so far; keep the replies coming ! :)

Merry Christmas,

Andy.

A

Anonymous