Ferrite beads on hifi cables

A

Anonymous

You mean on the mains cables? I'm no electrician but wouldn't adding them to audio cables restrict some of the frequencies getting through?

A

Anonymous

Yes mains cables but I'm not sure if they affect high frequencies in interconnects and speaker cables as you suggest. I'm hoping someone can explain because I'm wondering if the ferrite beads that clip on to cables would make any sort of improvement.

Tony_R

Oct 20, 2008
Visit site
The point of ferrite beads is to reduce HF interference, by creating an inductor along the cable.

So in essence, with enough inductance (and it won't take much) you will end up rolling off the high frequencies, which to some may sound better...
emotion-4.gif

So in conclusion I would say that it's a bad idea.

Tony.

Tony_R

Oct 20, 2008
Visit site
It's usually a good idea with mains cables.

For a CD player / DAB tuner I would place them close to the device.

For an amp I would place a couple along the lead, starting from the plug.

CD players and DAB devices can generate noise, which can find it's way on to the mains cable by way of internal radiation (although probably at minute levels) but it can't do any harm to put beads on.

How big are the beads you have?

Tony.

A

Anonymous

Hi Tony,

I have two of these TDK ones:

37349261bjz7.jpg

They accept cable up to 9mm although you can buy them for different sizes. 9mm fit my mains cables fine so I'll have to get some more.

Thanks.

Tony_R

Oct 20, 2008
Visit site
They look pretty standard - seen quite a few of those on computer mains leads.

They'll certainly help to reduce EMI/RFI (they can't do any harm anyway - unless you drop one on your toe!!)

Tony.

nads

chebby:What fresh madness is this? Not fresh, some electronics producers provide them to add to your power lead for their kit so that they can comply with X or Y regulations.

Tony_R

Oct 20, 2008
Visit site
chebby:What fresh madness is this?