expensive hifis and speakers just to play burned cds am i wasting my money

T

theflyingwasp

hi everyone im very new to hifi .i have a very large collection of cds just over 7000 .i dont say this to beat on my chest.its just that i have been using an old technics hifi and my blu ray player to play music for quite a few years now,and recently been playing them through my yamaha ysp 2200 soundbar.its time to upgrade i have the funds to buy a roksan hifi and other brands of hifi upto that pricepoint and speakers upto £1000.am i wasting my money buying such expensive equipment just to play burned cds.is the quality of music on burned discs rubbish compared to proper cds.

Overdose

Feb 8, 2008
Visit site
theflyingwasp said:
hi everyone im very new to hifi .i have a very large collection of cds just over 7000 .i dont say this to beat on my chest.its just that i have been using an old technics hifi and my blu ray player to play music for quite a few years now,and recently been playing them through my yamaha ysp 2200 soundbar.its time to upgrade i have the funds to buy a roksan hifi and other brands of hifi upto that pricepoint and speakers upto £1000.am i wasting my money buying such expensive equipment just to play burned cds.is the quality of music on burned discs rubbish compared to proper cds.

Are all of your CDs 'burned'?

When you say 'burned', do you mean audio CDs created from mp3s?

T

theflyingwasp

about 2500 are from itunes on my very old pc and the rest were actual cds imported into itunes.i then sold all them and have just been burning albums to disc for work and the car for about 2 years now.

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
So let me get this right...you've burned 7000 CDs from downloaded MP3s?

Daft question, but why? And yes, the quality of the MP3s will determine how good they're going to sound (or not).

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site