Do I need an new AV amp if I upgrade to HD TV & Blu-ray?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm not an AV expert, so some advice is needed:

I'm planning to upgrade from standard definition TV, DVDs and Sky+ a HD TV (Sony KDL-37EX503), Blu-ray (Sony BDP-S370) and Sky+HD.

Do I need to change my AV amp? My current AV amp is a Yamaha AX750SE which has no HDMI interconnects, only component or digital/optical video inputs.

Pistol Pete1

Jan 27, 2008
Visit site
The Sony has no multi channel outputs, so would need HDMI to work......Sky HD sound is sent via optical, which i assume your receiver has..........picture can go directly to tv via HDMI

So, it you defo want the Sony, it's a new receiver.....otherwise look for a player that has multi channel outputs on it....

daveh75

If you want HD audio from Blu-Ray,you've got a couple of choices...

Either, keep your current amp, and go for a BD player that has multi-channel analogue outputs and can decode the HD audio on-board( so not the Sony), Or go with the Sony and upgrade your amp to a newer model that has HDMI.

For Sky+HD, connect it direct to TV by HDMI and to the amp via optical or coaxial - Sky+HD boxes only do Dolby Digital 5.1 at best but can't ouput it over HDMI any way, only optical or coaxial, so there's no real benefit to be gained by upgrading the amp for use with Sky.

chudleighpaul

Jan 7, 2010
Visit site
I would stick with the existing amp and get a bluray player that has 5.1 analogue outs. You will save quite a bit of money, and it will work just as well.

Ronald Archiebald

Jun 24, 2010
Visit site
Alant01,

Besides the WHF team, none of us here are experts! We are all A/V enthusiasts, some just having more experience than others.

Are you planning to get a 5.1 surround sound system in the near future? With a new HD TV and blu-ray player, you will still not benefit from HD audio if it's played through your TV, and you really need a good speaker system to complete the experience.