Dipping a toe into Lake Hi-Fi...

dogspangle

Feb 10, 2012
Visit site
Just before I take the plunge, I was wondering if anyone could share a few thoughts on what I have in mind.

Over the next year or so I want to spend about £1,500 on: a DAC, an amp and a pair of bookshelf speakers. The listening room is smallish, 4 x 3 metres, with speakers placed along the 4m length and close to it. The sources will be: a Rega Planar 3, CA 650BD (transport) and Apple TV - until I can afford a dedicated streamer. I listen to anything from Adele to Rammstein, but mainly rock.

My initial choice for an audition is, Rega’s: DAC, Brio R and RS1. I think this system would tick many boxes for me, but I will definitely take my 650BD and some discs along and listen to the setup.

I’m pretty new to this, but if someone can offer me alternative ideas or comments on similar setups, then this would be a great help, and really appreciated.

Many thanks.

A

Anonymous

Haven't tried out the RS1s because I wanted floorstanders, but heard good things about them.

I am very, very happy with the Rega DAC, Brio-R and RS3s though.

Happy hunting!

A

Anonymous

As soon as you dip your toe you will want to swim, go and demo some gear, have fun and trust your ears.

dogspangle

Feb 10, 2012
Visit site
Thanks very much for your thoughts.

I think the XTZ looks stunning, Audio Sanctum, and their log cabin, are only 10 miles away, so a demo could be possible - and they'll also permit a home trial for a couple of weeks.

SteveD: can I ask if you have encountered any brightness with your Rega kit, or a lengthy run-in period? Had my Planar 3 nearly 30 years, loved the sound, even through an old Rotel 840bx. Are you playing downloaded, high-res audio / ripped CD / mp3?