Denon DM37DAB + Tannoy F1 Customs - Not Satisfied .... Floorstanding Speakers??

sae2003us

Jan 12, 2010
Visit site
Hello,
(I'm a complete newbie to the the Hi-Fi world so hope I don't sound too stupid here - I'm just a little confused).

First let me give you my goal: A system in our living room, to play music from USB sticks, iPods and CDs as well as to play audio from TV when watching films. Budget £300 - £350 (£400 real stretch).

I recently purchased a Denon DM37DAB with the Tannoy F1 Customs (I had a demo of the Wharfedale 9.1's and found them a little loose with the bass - so went for the Tannoys without a demo).

Anyway, I set up the system, I'm using decent cable and at the moment do not have any real speaker stands but something enough to get the speakers to a closer ear level.

Now here's my issue... the sound is nice, but not filling enough. I don’t expect it to be overly loud, just reasonably moving. I've been used to listening to audio through Harmon Kardon Soundsticks II, which i find satisfying.

Now question time:
1) Is this just the best sound I'm going to get with my budget?
2) To get a more filling sound, should i purchase a pair a floorstanding speakers, I've seen the Q Acoustics 1030i for £140 (This would be stretching my budget but i could just about get it).
3) Would the Denon Dm37DAB power these (the speakers recommended amp power is 25 - 100 watts - the denon gives 30W per channel).
4) Should I give the speakers more time (to settle?), get the perfect stands, play with settings more.
5) Is my equipment choice just wrong, in which case what to do?

I know this is rather long, but your help would be much appreciated.

Peace,
Tiago

Sizzers

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
I can't say that's my experience with the Denon/Tannoy combo.

Mine's a bedroom set-up and suits my needs perfectly, although I may well have gone down a different route had I been setting something up in a larger living area.