Denon 1910 and setting for gaming on a PS3?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello everyone,

Can anyone help? I have a PS3 and a Denon 1910. I have the PS3 connected to the Denon using a HDMI cable and have the imput mode of the amp set to HDMI and I have letf the decode option set to auto.

The other day I got a copy of Black Ops and the amp keeps switching from Dolby D to PL II C during the game. This results in a black screen when it keeps switching which is really annoying and I have to turn the amp off and play through the TV speakers.

I am guessing I have set something up wrong as I have look around the internet and can’t see anyone else having this problem. I have changed the sound options in the games menu to tell it I have an AV player but it still keeps switch modes??

When I normally play games on my PS3 I never change any setting all I do is put the game in and the amp goes into MULTI- IN and that’s it.

A

Anonymous

Hi,

i'm no expert but this may help

You may want to try connecting a firbre optic cable between ps3 and 1910 then assign f/o to the hdmi input.

A

Anonymous

Strange...I have the same amp connected to my PS3. I get 'Multi-in' on the amp when I play and that is what should be selected.

If you have the slim PS3 just ensure you have the PS3 set to do the decoding. You shouldn't be getting Dolby anything over HDMI from PS3 if it is set up correctly.

Failing that re-run the audio auto setup on the PS3 and that may jig it into action. Other than that I would say you have a faulty amp / game / ps3. Try changing the HDMI plug that the PS3 is connected to.

Try Brad's suggestion and if that works it narrows it down to PS3/Amp HDMI problems.

If you google 'Batpig's denon guide' I find that really useful for setting things up and problem solving.

A

Anonymous

My apologies I have just had a play around with Black ops and my my amp switches from multi-in to PLII C not Dolby,

I'll have a tinker around with the setting.