Deathmetal Hi-Fi Extracting the most from your CDs or Streamers

Glacialpath

Apr 7, 2010
Visit site
This thread is my opinion and I hope you guys will make up your own mind and let me know if you agree or not once you've tried for yourself.

Please post your opinions, thoughts and questions but I know some of you don't believe in some of the things I hope to be saying. You are entitled to your opinion.

Disclamer:

This thread is mostly aimed at people who listen to Heavy Rock, Heavy Metal, Death Metal, Black Metal and so on. There will be some band names posted that some may find offensive like Ca*nibal Co*pse hence the * but they are just band names or album titles and not meant offensively. I will be commenting on how the changes I made to my system made these albums sound. Also I am not affiliated with any of the brands I mention.

Hi, my name is Trevor also known as Glacialpath/The Cable Madman. I have a page on FB if you wish to view it. I'm a musician. I play drums and guitar mainly but I can play almost anything if I get the chance. I generally love anything audio related and always want the best quality possible. I know my Hi-Fi is no way near as good as a lot of the guys on here have so I'm always looking to improve when money permits. I mostly listen to heavy music and have wondered how to get the most clarity from the albums I listen to. Cables have made the biggest difference in my set up allowing me to hear actual guitar tones, better definition from complex riffs, the full tone of different cymbals and drums (when the haven't been triggered or had drum replacement done) and clear refined bass lines and tone where as before all the instruments sounded like a distorted mess.

Albums I have extracted the most from include: Death Cult Armageddon (Dimmu Borgir) Kill (Ca*nibal Co*pse) Chaosphere (Meshuggah) One Day Remains (Alter Bridge) Powertrippin' (The Almighty) and many others.