DAC Magic compared to my Arcam CD192

Andy H

Nov 14, 2007
Visit site
I've had my DAC Magic a few days now and I've finally got around to doing a back to back with my cd player.

The dac is being fed by a Sonos system.

Before the comparison I thought the dac was great, Whilst I still do my opinion has changed just a little.

The dac has more bass and sounds a bit more dynamic, great you might say, but then comes the vocals and midrange. The cd is better in this dept, vocals sound more natural, more refind you might say and the cd picks the little/subtle things out of a track better.

The highs/treble sounds a little bright on the dac as against the cds smooth treble.(I prefer it smoother).

Before the comparison I posted on here that I thought the dac was the best thing since sliced bread. I still think it is VERY VERY GOOD, but just not quite as good as my cd player. I'm not very good at describing the sound, it is a lot closer than the above describes.

This is of course is just my opinion, someone else may prefer the way it sounds. I will be using the dac with the Sonos 90 - 95% of the time, but when I want to get the best sounds, like when I'm listening alone, to some floyd etc then the cd player will be used.

A

Anonymous

Andy H:I've had my DAC Magic a few days now and I've finally got around to doing a back to back with my cd player. The dac is being fed by a Sonos system.

Maybe that's the problem. My DM improved quite a bit over 70+ hours of playback time. The treble became smoother, the bass became better controlled, the balance improved. Do the same test in 6 weeks and let us know!

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
Andy H:I've had my DAC Magic a few days now and I've finally got around to doing a back to back with my cd player.

The dac is being fed by a Sonos system.

Before the comparison I thought the dac was great, Whilst I still do my opinion has changed just a little.