connecting receiver to tv dvd ps3 question

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have recently bought myself my first real receiver as well as a new tv, i was just wanting to make sure that i have it all set up to get the best out of everything. My tv is a PANASONIC TH-42PX80, reciever is PIONEER VSX-LX70, DVD player is PIONEER DV-600AV and i also have a PS3.This may be a basic question but as i say i am fairly new to all of this

Firstly i have an HDMI cable coming from my DVD play to my tv and an OPTICAL cable going to my reciever, or should i just run an HDMI cable to my receiver and just use the HDMI output to my tv?

Secondly i have an HDMI cable going from my PS3 to my receiver then an HDMI cable going from my receiver to my tv.

Lastly i have a set of RCA leads going from my tv to my receiver.

Does this all sound ok or should i be setting it up any differently to get the best picture and sound?

Plus is there any twicking in the settings on the ps3 or amp that i will need to do?

Many thanks,

A

Anonymous

Any thoughts would be very much apreciated, as i say i am a bit of a virgin when it comes to this!

kind regards

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Well, if you're DVD player can bitstream the audio over the HDMI connection, you could hook it direct to the amp, but there's nothing wrong with the way you have it hooked up at the moment. Everything else looks fine.

A

Anonymous

Chears for that at least i know i am going in the right direction! Just one other question i have is if i play a blue ray disc on my ps3 would i automaticaly get the true hd audio that the receiver supports? Once again i have been reading through the forums about this but the answers seem to go into great detail and its making my head spin!!

many thanks

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site