Connecting a subwoofer

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all, I am new to all this so please be gentle with me! Ok so I have bought a Denon amp and CD player and some KEF speakers and I should be picking them up on Tuesday (Can't wait!). However, I also have an active Eltax sub-woofer and I was hoping to link this up as I also want to connect me DVD player and listen to movies through the speakers and sub. I read in a what hi-fi magazine that the speaker cables to each speaker should be the same length but with the sub I have to connect the cables from amp to sub, then sub to speakers. So my questions are:

a) should the speaker cables going to my amp be the same length as those going to my speakers? or does that not reallt matter so long as the cables to each speaker are the same?

b) i was intending on buying some good speaker cable (QED Silver Anniversary), if the signal has to pass through the sub to get to the speakers will this reduce the sound quality?

c) will the speakers still be able to play when the sub is switched off?

d) i think this sub is for use with films, will it be ok with music or should I buy a better all rounder? (This is going to be an expensive hobby isn't it?!)

Anyway, thats all I think but any other advice or tips on setting up a new system would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance,

Sam Carson.

A

Anonymous

The amp is the Denon PMA 500 and the Sub is the Eltax Atomic A6.2 the speakers are KEF Cresta 3 if that matters. Any views on the setup? Its my entry into the world of Hi-Fi seperates so hopefully it will keep me entertained for a while before I feel the need to upgrade! Which speaker cable would you recommend, I've read some great reviews of the QED Silver Anniversary, would you have any other suggestions? Thanks Andrew,

Sam Carson.

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site