Connecting 4 non-matching impedence speakers to a 2 channel Hi-Fi amplifier

solid_mind

Nov 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi there,

I am a novice user of audio systems and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction with an issue I have regarding connecting my speakers to a Hi-Fi amplifier.
20131107_154810.jpg

I have a KENWOOD KR-V5080 amplifier which has got 2 speakers inputs. Below is the full specs:

Power output: 50 watts per channel into 8Ω (stereo)

Surround output: 40W (front), 40W (center), 40W (rear)

Frequency response: 20Hz to 20kHz

Total harmonic distortion: 0.7%

Input sensitivity: 2.5mV (MM), 200mV (line)

Speaker load impedance: 4Ω to 16Ω

I have 2 sets of speakers, one is 6Ω and the other one is 8Ω. I am a bit confused as to how I am supposed to splice these speakers together so that I'll have a decent sound quality and not damage the amp?

Thanks

RobinKidderminster

May 27, 2009
Visit site
'SLICE' together ???? NO. NO. Connect the best pair to the front (A) speaker outputs. (They are not inputs). You could then use the others as rear speakers or try just one as a centre speaker. If all sounds ok u could add centre/sub later

Dont expect too much from it sadly.

solid_mind

Nov 7, 2013
Visit site
RobinKidderminster said:
'SLICE' together ???? NO. NO. Connect the best pair to the front (A) speaker outputs. (They are not inputs). You could then use the others as rear speakers or try just one as a centre speaker. If all sounds ok u could add centre/sub later

Dont expect too much from it sadly.

It is actually "SPLICE" not "SLICE"
smiley-wink.gif
...I've been reading a few sources online about connecting the speakers in parallel or series to get around this issue! would that not be suitable for this problem?

RobinKidderminster

May 27, 2009
Visit site
Slice. Splice. Connect. Join. Glue. Stick. Bond ......

As many anwers ...NO. NO.NO. NO