Confusion,confusion,confusion!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am a newbie aiming on an entry level hifi stereo system mainly for record playing.

I have locked on the Rega RP1 to spin my disks (would settle for a second hand mkII also but it is difficult to find one i a descent price were i live).

For amplifier i am seriously considering the Rotel RA-04SE since it not only acclaimed by everyone but also it appears that it has a good phono stage. Moreover i don't see any strong competitor at its price range (Marantz 6003? HK 980?).

The tricky part is the pairing with speakers. I have auditioned the Rotel with Dynaudio 2/6 (using a digital source passed through a DAC) and i must say it was pretty impressive. The only objections i had was that the voice sounded too upfront and that in higher volume the sound started to blur a little.

So I started looking for other options at the price range and it seams there are a lot! KEF Q100? Monitor Audio BX-2? Diamonds 10.*? BW 685? Or should i try for a floorspeaker (monitor audio BR5?) at that price? CONFUSION!

I don't thing i can audition all the combinations (some of the speakers are not sold by the Rotel retailer) so i have to narrow them down! SO what better place to ask for tips than here? [:)]

P.S.: any thought for an alternative setup on the same budget are more than welcome [:)]

A

Anonymous

Hmm..nobody to help here?

Anyways, today i auditioned the rotel 04se with the KEF300 and i have to say that pair didn't go well together. Crunchy sound, they somehow lost the transitions. Dynaudio 2/6s did much better ..but now i start to think that maybe at that price (550 euro!) I can get a decent floorspeaker that the rotel can drive...

I think the Wharfedales (Diamond 10.1,10.5?) and the Monitor Audios (BX-5, BR5) are in turn. This time with my Rega RP1 as input :)

I look forward to any other suggestion!

algo:

Hmm..nobody to help here?