Concerned about connecting speaker cable when not using banana plugs

Dazmb

Aug 26, 2007
Visit site
This is a stupid question that has been bugging me for a while now, and it's probably one that can go down in the 'placebo' effect trash can. So I apologise in advance... BUT can you diminish the sound quality you get if you mess up too much the connecting of the speaker cable at both ends because:

A:) Don't have enough of the cable touching the amp or speaker posts when you screw down the connector?

B:) Cut any of the individual wire strands when stripping back the speaker cable sleeve to expose the wire (ready for connecting to posts)?

Is there any need for banana plugs to improve things?

Dumb, I know. But it's niggling me
emotion-1.gif

robg1976

Sep 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi mate well im no expert but i will give you my opinion......Banana plugs are great they keep the end of your cable neat and of course they make connection and removal of cables simple and easy.. As for sound quality im not sure its probable better with no plugs as a direct connection must be better for the signal rather than to go through another component must surely reduce signal quality. I guess its up to you mate i use good quality plugs on my Black rodium cable i find it so much less hassle

Hope this helps as i said im no expert on this but i think you dont need to worry as long as all your connection are neat it shoul be fine...

A

Anonymous

cutting a few strands by mistake when stripping back the cable will not make any difference.if you cut off half the strands it might though!

A

Anonymous

Dazmb, I am glad you got some valuable suggestion. Just wanted to add my opinion.