complete noob!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
hello to everyone,

having never owned a seperates hifi, this week i took the plunge and bought a 2nd hand set of speakers and amp. the speakers are eltax millenium 200 and the amp a pioneer a405r. both work fine and are in excellent condition so i am happy on that score but are they actually any good? i know there is much, much better equipment out there but im a mature student on a strict budget. also i have 2 other questions, is a graphic equalizer a necessary piece of kit? and do all the components have to be the same make?

regards

robert

A

Anonymous

timwileman:Hi, its no to both questions...(sorry the last 2 questions! i have no idea if your kit is any good) and welcome to the mad world of hifi!! ha ha

I agree and Robert - use your ears - they are your best guide. EVERYTHING that's written is an opinion - nothing more or less than that If it works for you then it's fine provided it's electronically compatible.
emotion-5.gif

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
A graphic equalizer is a no no. Does your amp have tone controls? If so, small adjustments of the tone controls should allow you to tweak to suit your tastes/music/room.

Kit doesn't have to match, but it'll look better if it does, and you know it'll be tuned to give roughly the same overall 'sound' (whether that's a good or bad thing depends on how much you like your amp)

:)

fatboyslimfast

Jan 10, 2008
Visit site
lektorsavidfan:
hello to everyone,