Choosing my new TV - Help ! (Pana TH-42PX70 vs SONY KDL-40V3000)

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello

I've just started to do some research into my first new TV for 8 years and have just finished reading the latest copy of what hi fi which was very helpful (and could be the undoing of my bank account!!)

After reading the reviews, I went to take a look at the award winning Pansonic TH-42PX70 with a view to buying it but I was a little disappointed by the look of it...a little plasticy I thought.

Then I saw the Sony KDL-40V3000 and I fell in love with its looks with the glossy black frame ! - but I havent really been able to find a constructive review on this set .

Does anyone have any feedback they could give me ? Is it any good ?

Im not an expert in this field, and I would be running the set on normal freeview and intended to buy a PS3 to watch some films on the blue ray format, but having looked at the LCD TVS when hooked up to the terrestrial signal I was a little disappointed at the picture after seeing them all running the HD demos in the shop !..

Anyway, any help really appreciated !! Is the set set just fine or should I really stop being such a style victim and go for the Pana ?

Cheers

NAT

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
Go for the Pans plasma - we judged it a superior performer to the 'W' version of the Sony set you like the looks of, and the 'V' is the model down from that one....

Believe me, you'll be enjoying the picture so much, you won't notice the set itself!

A

Anonymous

Thanks guys.

I went to have another look at the pansonic today and I have to say it looked much better 2nd time around and my wife really liked it.

Went on line and managed to get it for £665 from Dixons as I found a promotional code (fate ? there 70th birthday prmotion finished at midnight tonight!!) through one of the price check search engines so i'm very happy ! I have also ordered an alphason AG94 stand to put it on.